Home > Starcraft II > Collecting emotions

Collecting emotions

My first collector’s edition was Warcraft III. A friend had gone through some effort to get both of us a copy. The box looked so great compared to a normal game’s packaging and it was just filled with goodies, most I admired once and then stuffed away. I got the World of Warcraft collector’s edition as well, but I failed to get the Burning Crusades’ one; it was sold out quickly, and I did not even bother with the Wrath one. By that time I was viewing collector’s editions as overpriced pieces of merchandise that did not add anything to the game at all. Even in-game items were mostly fun for once or cosmetic (as they should be, because power in-game should be earned, not bought, but that is another discussion).

And I still ordered the Starcraft II CE.

It contains, quoting from the press release:

  • The Art of StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty, a 176-page book featuring artwork from the game
  • An exclusive 2GB USB flash drive replica of Jim Raynor’s dog tag, which comes preloaded with the original StarCraft and the StarCraft: Brood War® expansion set
  • A behind-the-scenes DVD containing over an hour of developer interviews, cinematics with director’s commentary, and more
  • The official StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty soundtrack CD, containing 14 epic tracks from the game along with exclusive bonus tracks
  • StarCraft comic book issue #0, a prequel to the comic series
  • A World of Warcraft® mini Thor in-game pet that can be applied to all World of Warcraft characters on a single Battle.net account
  • Exclusive Battle.net downloadable content, including special portraits for your Battle.net profile, decals to customize your units in-game, and a visually unique version of the terran Thor unit

The art book is probably the thing I will value most, but having the music on CD is definitely nice as well. I cannot really care for the USB drive, because I already own Starcraft I and Brood War, like (probably) everyone who’s liking SCII enough to buy a collector’s edition. The comic and behind the scenes DVD I will peruse about once. What I really do not like is the WoW pet since it has nothing to do with Starcraft. I quit WoW, I’m happy I quit WoW and no pet is going to get me to play again. Still, if Cataclysm turns out to be awesome, I shall play it followed by a baby Thor…

Again, there’s nothing in there that’s going to make me game more enjoyable, but that’s not point. I want to get the feeling of unpacking it like an early birthday, because finding all those goodies is a nice emotion and I am willing to pay for it.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

